Skip to content

Peace of my mind

November 7, 2010

Whoah, been awhile. My body is here and my mind’s elsewhere. I have been putting my thinking cap on for awhile. Too much thinking.

So what’s new with Brunei? I guess the hot news just a week ago was this girl who stood for almost three hours under the sun, clad in pink baju kurung and, (okay thats nothing, right?) AND, contemplating whether to jump or not from a rooftop of an eight-storey Government building.

Internet-savy Bruneians were quick to upload images and videos as the drama unfold via Facebook and Twitter. Apparently, the girl was one of those who are under-going counselling at the building for troubled girls. Nasty as well as empathy comments were thrown to her and some humour added to that. Personally to me, I felt sorry for her. I mean, what if she is your sister, daughter, cousin, friend? Would you joke about the situation? I think the good news was that she spent three hours on that rooftop, admiring the view? Maybe. Joke aside, I think she may not be that suicidal as she would do it the very moment she reached the top and ended her life there and then.

The issue here for me is: why does Brunei have troubled or disturbed people? Those who have psychological problems? Their minds not in peace? Is the world too much for them? Brunei, as far as I can say, is the most peaceful country on Earth. We dont have political instability here. Our health and education are among the best in the world and for many, we are the luckiest human being on this planet because we have the cheapest petrol, right?

So whats troubling you that you wanted to end your life, please tell me? I need to chill down myself for now, thank you.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 5:11 am

    keep on posting..

  2. November 19, 2010 2:02 am

    The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

  3. November 19, 2010 1:08 pm

    Cool post mate.

  4. February 16, 2011 12:08 am

    There’s a lot of factors which possibly come into play when a person has/had reached that state of mind, regardless of that person being in Brunei or not.

    From a personal and ethical point of view, I don’t think it’s a laughable matter and contemplating suicide especially for depressed people is most likely more common than what mainstream perception may even be aware of.

    Religious AND empathetic guidance can be important to resolve such troubling issues.

    • July 30, 2011 11:09 am

      Often I feel it does not signet a difficulty in showing others that they have too much playing on your mind. So many times we feel what we feel and the most possible outlook is to reach a place of peace where the heartstrung onset of races in minds are not heard. Whether Brunei felt that or depressed or suicide was just her own desire , it is an awareness for all the people to try harder to seek out others through the nature of their solemn grace they repeat from themselves. Many of us including I , myself has that management as it is brutal to say continually “go away racing negative thoughts” I just want to be me with a smile and understanding of me. Judgement is not what we all need just to give a sign somehow through empathy that you have a hand to reach out to be there to Listen as a caring one and have weighed out that you cannot resolve your troubles but “Here I am , I will be there with you no matter what”

Leave a Reply

