Skip to content

New cabinet ministers

May 30, 2010

His Majesty The Sultan of Brunei last night announced the fourth cabinet reshuffle since the country gained its independence; five years after a major reshuffle, shaking up the cabinet ministers line up. This time, the first woman Deputy Minister was also included.

His Majesty is still the Prime Minister, Minister of Defence and Minister of Finance; and so are HRH The Crown Prince as the Senior Minister at the Prime Minister’s Office and HRH Prince Mohammad as the Minister of Foreign Affairs & Trade. The two posts of the State Mufti (Pehin Haji Aziz Juned) and the Attorney General (Datin Hjh Hayati) are still of ministerial rank.

The following is the new list:

Minister of Education is now Pehin Abu Bakar Apong (previously Minister of Education)

Minister of Health is now Pehin Adanan (previously Minister of Home Affairs)

Minister of Development is now Pehin Suyoi (previously Minister of Health)

Minister of Communication is now Pehin Abdullah (previously Minister of Development)

Minister of Industry & Primary Resources is Pehin Yahya (previously the Energy Minister)

Minister of Finance II is still Pehin Rahman

Minister of Foreign Affairs & Trade II is still Pehin Lim Jock Seng

Minister of Energy is now Pehin Yasmin (previously Deputy Minister of Defence)

Minister of Religious Affairs is Pg Dato Mohammad (previously Deputy Minister of Education)

Minister of Home Affairs is Pehin Badaruddin (previously Deputy Minister of Religious Affairs)

Minister of Culture, Youth & Sports is Pehin Hazair (previously Deputy Minister of Health).

Deputy Ministers at:

Prime Ministers Office is Dato Hj Abd Wahab Juned (previously Chairman of the Public Service Commission)

Defence is Dato Haji Mustappha (previously Permanent Secretary at the Defence Ministry)

Finance is Haji Bahrin Abdullah (previously Permanent Secretary at the same ministry)

Datin Hajah Adina Othman, the first woman Deputy Minister.

Development is Dato Hj Ali Apong (previously Permanent Secretary at the Finance Ministry)

Religious Affairs is Pg Hj Bahrom (previously Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Religious Affairs Ministry)

Home Affairs is Pehin Halbi (former Commander of the RBAF and recently Brunei High Commissioner to Malaysia)

Ministry of Culture, Youth & Sports is Datin Hjh Adina Othman (previously Director of Community Development Department).

His Majesty announced that the appointments took effect from yesterday, 29 May 2010 for a period of five years.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: