Skip to content

Influenza A (H1N1) update – life goes on in Brunei

July 8, 2009

a
Alhamdullilah, the number of patients who recovered from the total number of cases has reached almost  44% (see figures above). Despite the fact that schools re-opened last Monday, only ten new cases were reported yesterday but again, its too early to say now. Lets see whats the statistics say at the end of today as those catching the flu will only display symptoms after three days?

I hope people are not panicking but should observe personal hygiene and be vigilant. I was wearing a mask last night when I was visiting at the hospital. I saw that a number of visitors also wore masks. I then met a relative who was not wearing one and joked about me wearing a mask. He said, ‘Wah, trying to protect yourself from catching the flu? You will get it eventually. I better stay away from you too!’

I said to myself, ‘WT*’ with his attitude so I ignored him. I am sure people will agree, I am protecting myself and those around me. People wearing mask would not want to spread the virus if they got it or would not want to catch it. We have to make an effort, right. Berusaha, berdoa dan bertawakal.

Back to the hospital, I could not believe my eyes when I was passing through the A&E area. It was so full of people and not just adults but babies and young children as well. I overheard a lady who said that she was down with a flu and went to the Ong Sum Ping Health Centre (about ten minutes drive from RIPAS Hospital) and her queue number was 205! So she decided to go to RIPAS instead and what did she find? More people!

The number of people in the A&E area is one matter but what matter most was when I saw this family of six with the mother holding her baby in her arms. I dont know who wanted to see a doctor, its either the mom or the baby but it look like the whole family was having a picnic. They were enjoying the atmosphere by eating keropok or snacks  and drinking in the open; and not wearing a mask. I dont know if they realised that they are risking the young ones to the virus. Okay maybe I sound paranoid but can they be at least considerate to others?

Reading the local news for the past few days also caught my attention. It look like life does go on in Brunei with endless expos at The Mall and elsewhere, a concert with local artists and one upcoming popular treasure hunt to be held soon. I heard more than 800 people have registered to join in the hunt? Not sure if the numbers’ right but I do hope people are aware that the virus is in the air?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Parent permalink
    July 10, 2009 4:56 pm

    The figure increase day by day, new update today 239 peoples. Will the school still open for students? Are the students safe in school?

    • Brunei Lifestyler permalink
      July 11, 2009 7:46 am

      Hi parent. I can understand your concern. I havent heard anything about schools to remain open in view of the cases. I think if you feel your child/ children are unsafe in schools, you may wish not to send them for the moment, and inform the school on your decision. Lets pray collectively.

  2. Amin permalink
    July 10, 2009 4:59 pm

    I worry about what MOH and MOE will do.

  3. Brunei Lifestyler permalink
    July 11, 2009 7:40 am

    Insya Allah Amin…I believe with our Government. They are doing the best they can. Lets us all make an effort to help stop or at least, lessen the rate of infection.

  4. August 23, 2011 7:09 am

    I was recommended this website via my cousin. I am now not positive whether or not this post is written by way of him as nobody else recognize such unique approximately my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

