Skip to content

Britain’s Got Talent

May 31, 2009

Feeling a bit lousy for the past two days as I was down with fever, I remembered something that I need to know first thing Sunday morning. As soon as I woke up, I turned on (err, not Tv) the pc and quickly searched for ‘Britain’s Got Talent’; only to read the news that Susan Boyle won second place.

Not sure if Brunei is following the ITV programme but Britain’s Got Talent is Britain’s answer to the American Idol and yes, the gruesome Simon Cowell is also one of the judges.  

So whats with this Susan Boyle? She is a 47-year old spinster from Scotland and her overall image would not make anyone think she can be a star. But wait, don’t judge a book by its cover. She got talent! Listening to her rendition of ‘I dreamed a dream’ from the Les Miserables play made me shivered down to my spine.  Her performance uploaded in YouTube has more than two million hits.

Being able to watch the show on YouTube, I wonder if its really necessary to subscribe to Astro now especially that Astro has been playing repeats over and over again. Okay thats another story. Watching the video, I wonder when Brunei would have its own reality show with sugh magnitude. Susan Boyle is already an Internet pop culture sensation. I know that the final of RTB’s ‘Aksi Video’ was on last night but that didnt create much buzz even among Bruneians.  I am sure Brunei got talent too…

This video embedding has been disabled so please go to YouTube…

Leave a Reply

