Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day

May 10, 2009

…to all moms in the world today.

Personally for me, my mom is my bestest friend in the www (whole wide world). Its funny when we think that our mom wouldn’t understand whenever we have a problem but believe me they do. They may have not know how to send text through Twitter or log in to Facebook or Friendster but they really do know what life means, regardless of time.

My mom is a full-time housewife. Hers was a time when girls were not allowed to go to school so she was illeterate. Soon after getting married, she only focussed on the house and the twelve of us, her children.  Over the years, she managed to teach herself and through our help, on how to read and write. I love it when mom has this amazing and logical reasons to everything about life in particular to health and economy.

When I moved in to my own place, she reminded me to buy things in bulk. Its cheaper that way she said. But I told her, if I buy, say, lemongrass at the Tamu for one dollar, it will take me ages to use it all up. She said, ‘Sadakahkah saja,’ or just give some around maybe to my neighbours. We all know that the more we give, the more we get in return. 

So, thinking about the day….Many eating outlets and bakeries are busy promoting the Mother’s Day event; and not forgetting spas and massage parlours. I have  been receiving texts from a number of these on the many promotions being offered for the day. 

Up to individuals on how to treat their moms – not just on Mother’s Day but on any of the 355 days but since most outlets have promotions, so why not treat mom on this day, yes? Worldly gifts can’t repay for what our moms have done for us but a little something would mean so much for them.

Yummy grilled duck breast served with seasoned roasted vegetables with balsamic fig chutney and pear demi glace for Mother's Day at Spaghettini today. Pic from obcess dot blogspot dot com.
Yummy grilled duck breast served with seasoned roasted vegetables with balsamic fig chutney and pear demi glace for Mother’s Day at Spaghettini today. Pic from obcess dot blogspot dot com.

Spaghettini at the Empire is having its Mother’s Day set lunch today. For Br$48 per pax, the fine Italian restaurant is offering a four-course set meal. Click here for more info with, shall I say, seductive pics from the obcess crew blog.   

Fitness Zone Kiulap is also offering FREE use of its facilities and FREE classes today. Head down with your mom to the gym (in proper attire of course) and sweat it all out. Maybe after a couple of hours after the Spaghettini trip?

I also like a promotion from the Jerudong Park Medical Centre, JPMC.  I was surfing through its website for the promo but none. Anyway, I remember seeing one advert from the centre on their Mother’s Day promo – a health check for moms at a reduced price. Isnt that a nice idea?

So after our nice n yummy lunch at the Empire, we head to the Fitness Zone, Kiulap and soon after losing so much calories, we drive all the way back to Jerudong again to JPMC for the medical check-up. How’s my plan? Ranoadidas has loads of promos.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

