Skip to content

The story of Teh Tarik (with a straw)

April 9, 2009

Sorry, as there’s no story actually. I am just wondering about it myself. Okay its not an issue, let alone a national issue that should be researched, analysed or reported.

 lt all began when I was craving for teh tarik (sweatened tea – literally being ‘pulled’) this morning. It was still early, 7ish in the morning and the nearest shop to my office will only be opened by 10am. I went out a bit further from my office to a restaurant; serving hot, steamy murtabak. Nope, didnt order that.

Me: “Teh Tarik satu. Tapau ah.”  (One teh tarik, take-away please)
Waiter (shouting across customers): ‘Teh tarik satu. Tapau!?” (One teh tarik for take-away!) Waiter: “Lagi? (Anymore?)
Me (feeling a bit embarrased as customers looked at me): “Nah.” 

Dum di dum di dumm…..waiting and waiting for just a cup of tea. Finally it arrived in a pink plastic carrier. The carrier is one thing (environmentally-friendly here) but what struck me was there was also a plastic straw inside.
Me (trying to sound nice): ‘Nda payah plastik ah.” (No need for the plastic carrier)
Waiter (just looking at me with his big eyes)
Me (still trying to sound nice): ‘Knapa ada straw ani ah? Ani panas jua ni. (Why is there a straw here?Its a hot drink, yes?)
Waiter (still looking at me with his big eyes): “Untuk minumlah!” (To drink of course!)
Me (not sure whether to laugh or to question him back). 
I just left and paid for my 80 cents teh tarik still thinking of the straw.

Now my question is, why was there a straw for a hot drink? This is not actually the first time I have encountered this. When I worked with a bank previously, and ordered teh tarik for take-away from a restaurant, they also gave me a straw. Why oh why?

Those who answer logically will get free teh tarik from me. Just for today.

To prove my story..hehe...nah. Just to show the trivial dilema I had this morning.

To prove my story..hehe...nah. Just to show the trivial dilema I had this morning.

Leave a Reply

