Skip to content

Kaabah

August 4, 2008

My brother and sister in law will be going for the Umrah or mini pilgrimage next week. I wish them a blessed and beneficial journey.

I had the opportunity to do the Umrah too many years back. For a first timer like me, the journey was exciting to the extent that I couldn’t sleep weeks before we embarked on our journey. For those who has done numerous umrah, every trip is different, so I was told…

One of the many highlights of going to a holy place like Makkah is visiting the Kaa’ba and kissing the Black Stone, the Hajr Aswad. As I did my umrah in December, there were not that many pilgrims at that time. However trying to get to the line to kiss the stone was almost impossible.

It was midnight when we reached Kaa’ba. I counted that they were about 50 female infront of me while the male’s line was a bit longer maybe about a hundred or so in that line, waiting for their turn to kiss the stone.

I saw the guard was strict; at one stage he hit a Bruneian man on the man’s head for jumping the line. At another moment, I saw he pulled the head covering of a lady because the woman took awhile to kiss the stone. I was nervous when it was my turn.

It was my turn but I realised I was pulled back by someone, I found that was strange because I couldn’t see the body but I could feel the force. Masya Allah. I stepped back and began to recite my Istighfar and performed a prayer. After the prayer, I saw a route laid right infront of me and it was easy for me to reach the stone. Alhamdullilah.

That was one of the many experiences I personally had. My late-grandma said not to share such personal story due to reasons only known to her. I don’t know. I feel that its good to share such stories to deepen our feelings towards the love of Islam.

 Some useful info on Kaa’ba:

  • Kaa’ba is The House of ALLAH in Makkah. 
  • The Kaa’ba is covered by a black cloth known as ‘Kiswa’, which is being produced and changed every year. 
  • There is a special design-factory for the making of Kiswa in Makkah. 
  • It costs approximately SR 17million to produce one Kiswa.
  • The cloth is made of 670kgs of silver which was dyed black.
  • The cloth uses about 120kgs of pure gold and 50kgs of silver used in writing the Qur’anic verses over the cloth.
  • The total area of the cloth is 658 square meter.
Kaa'ba with and without the Ghilaaf

Kaa'ba with and without the Ghilaaf

The approximate location of a hundred countries in relation to the Kaabah. Brunei is almost to it's east, near the Black Stone.

The approximate location of a hundred countries in relation to the Kaabah. Brunei is almost to it's east, near the Black Stone.

The Hajr Aswad or the Black Stone, said to come directly from heaven. The stone is black as it was said that its covered with the sins of its kissers.

The Hajr Aswad or the Black Stone, said to come directly from heaven. The stone is black as it was said that its covered with the sins of its kissers.

The interior of the Kaa'bah. Always remains a mystery on what's inside it.

The interior of the Kaa'bah. Always remains a mystery on what's inside it.

The 'Kiswa' cloth uses about 120kgs of pure gold and 50kgs of silver used in writing the Qur'anic verses over the cloth.

The 'Kiswa' cloth uses about 120kgs of pure gold and 50kgs of silver used in writing the Qur'anic verses over the cloth.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. cornishevangelist permalink
    August 4, 2008 5:14 pm

    The Bible says in Philippians 1 v 6, “Being confident of this very thing, that He which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ,” which means that the Holy Ghost has called you in the beginning to accept Christ, and it is He that will bring us through to the time of Jesus return. For He is the Spirit of promise, and He is our guarantee that He will never ever leave us or forsake us.

    • khadija permalink
      October 13, 2010 10:25 am

      Jesus is a prophet, not god.

Leave a Reply

