Skip to content

Family knows best

May 12, 2008

I feel compel to write this. This entry from Kellaz really touch me. I don’t really know Kellaz as it’s unfair to judge him based on his postings in his blog. What I know is that he has problem with his family. As I am typing this, I don’t know why this matters to me. I think its because that Kellaz said his family is falling apart. I’m sorry Kellaz as I am not really discussing your problem here in my blog but my point is about family institution.

I know mine is not that great but I know I have a great family (12 siblings, in-laws, nieces, nephews, uncles…). I just had a great weekend yesterday with my big family, its just us, siblings and in-laws and some nieces and nephews, celebrating Mothers’ Day (not just one mother). Looking at the pictures I took yesterday really make me feel good.

Family is an important unit within a society and if a family is not functional a society may collapse. I know not one family is perfect, we all do have some flaws here and there but I think it’s important to fix problems sooner than later, before its bigger. If we all stand united, we would be stronger and who would be the best to help you with? Your own family of course. As the Malay saying goes:  Air ditetak tidak akan putus or blood is thicker than water.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2008 11:16 am

    Still waiting on that hug, man! I just realise the irony, because you said if I was a girl, you’d give me a hug and since I’m a boy, haram… Ermm… Isn’t it the other way round LOL… Just kidding man. The thought that counts, thanks anyway.

    Just a little insight about my family and me. Growing up with my family, I never had my own life. I live to ensure that they have their life and a peaceful one. I kept out of trouble at all times, my mum did not even have to lift a finger, the house ran smoothly, and not an amah in sight. I let my siblings make all the fuss and troubles (and sometimes kept them out of trouble), and in the end, I’d be the one consulted by my mother to fix things up. At one point, I became the parent to my own parents. When I was 16, I had the maturity of at least a 30 year old (I look like one too). I lost my teenage years because I was too busy ensuring the family stays together. When I was in the UK studying, my mother called me up to apologise, because she said she was a bad mother to my younger sister (who created a family chaos at time). My mum apologised to me for being a bad mother? Surely, something is wrong with this picture, right?

    It’s nice to know that my family counts on me, to fix things, to help out. That is what a son is for. I’m glad to do that. But to end up as the bad guy and getting banter and hatred after helping them? Over and over again, I suppose, it was time for me to draw the line. Yeah, a sad life I’m living in, but I’m happy for myself. I love my family. I miss them so much. I envy those group of family going out for family dinners and outings like you did. That is something I would love to experience again. But, this heart have been broken too many times and if it breaks again, I don’t think I can live. Seriously.

    Therefore, I need to stay away, until one day, they realise what they have done to me. I don’t ask for forgiveness. I only want them to be happy, together. Is that too much to ask?

    Anyway, thanks for the post. I means a lot to me.

    (Note: Any mums out there looking for an adopted son? – LOL)

  2. Ramble On permalink
    May 14, 2008 4:10 pm

    Any mums out there interested to adopt a son? Kellaz, I’m still a bit blurred but of course you don’t have to tell everything. I sincerely hope you and your family would be together again, amin. All the best.

Leave a Reply

