Skip to content

Babu I love you…Babu I care…

May 7, 2008

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes it’s an empty box for my beloved mom. I just don’t have the right image or the right words to express how grateful I am for what she has done to me and my other siblings and her sons and daughters in-law and not forgetting the growing number of grand-children! She’s a full time house-wife and during her time, girls were not allowed to venture out from their home boundaries, let alone go to school though mom admitted that she actually did with her partner-in-crime.  

I wouldn’t say she’s illiterate because she can read and write fairly, through her own will and determination. She has a lot of ideas and solutions that we, her children, agree that she could be a minister if she did really go to school and receive ‘proper’ education.

I admire her when I was little and now I still do. When I was young, my friends and I would talked on what we would be when I grow up. One said a doctor, an army officer, a pilot, fireman (hehe – the usual stuff kids would say) and me? I said I would be just like my mom.

 

Why? Because I grew up seeing her everyday like she has no problems in life. I didn’t recall any, yes there were arguments in the family, but there were no qualms from her. She raised a dozen (yes, 12) of us and I must say that each of us are all successful in our own way.  One of the tips she gave to us was that she would always say ‘Bismillah’ or By the name of God, when ever she would touch something or start her task. I think this is what we Malays call ‘berkat’ or blessed.

Now in her early seventies, she doesn’t look like anyone her age. She still jogs, do yoga with me, drive a car and should I say, Alhamdullilah, with a perfect eye-sight. I like it when we do girls’ things – shopping; spa; manicure…potong kain or going to the tailor, though not every week though. I know I haven’t given her much attention of late due to work and family but she will always have that special place in my heart.

I have so much to write here and endless examples of how good she has always been as a mother that I don’t know where to start. So I would like to dedicate this post to my beloved mom who is still strong at >70. I love you babu…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2008 1:06 am

    You’re lucky to have you family and your babu, to share you joy and happiness and the occasional sadness (if so apply). It’s a great thing, family is. Hope there’s more good years to come. I envy you.

  2. kepalahotakbejambul permalink
    May 8, 2008 1:28 am

    :_) i kudn agree more to what you said about Babu. their love are boundless and ours for them are too! Happy coming mother’s day..miss my babu :_(

  3. Ramble On permalink
    May 8, 2008 11:54 am

    It is Kellaz. Family is an important institution. It forms a community which in turn form a country. Cheewah! Thanks for your wishes and I hope yours too. Thanks Kellaz.

  4. Ramble On permalink
    May 8, 2008 11:56 am

    Yes kepalahotakbejambul. Mother’s love is unconditional. Yes, I miss my babu too, though she’s in Gadong and I’m in Bandar. Must see her very soon.And youre in the UK and your babu?

  5. May 9, 2008 12:07 am

    Famiy is an important institution, agreed. But mine, is a mental institution. I does my mind crazy. I love them, don’t get me wrong, I love my family to bits. but they make me crazy. No, seriously LOL, but seriously!

  6. Ramble On permalink
    May 9, 2008 12:41 pm

    Aww Kellaz. Hope for the best for you and your family, amin.

Leave a Reply

