Skip to content

Battle of the broadbands

May 5, 2008

So the battle of the broadbands in Brunei is really on. Over the weekend, e-speed was promoting its 3 in 1 modem for free at ICC, Berakas. The same weekend also saw DST with its high-turnout Go! Broadband road show at JP Amphitheatre with so many prizes ranging from hampers to motor-cycles (yes, those broom-brooms-powered two-wheelers) to cars. And where’s b.mobile? I learnt from Berakas Dude that they were also dropping their price for its Zoom! Service at $35 (previously at $59) per month for an unlimited plan.

So what is all this? I, as a consumer, am a bit confused with which is the best one (that suit me of course, not the providers). I used to be spontaneous, being taken easily with fantastic catches like if you buy this you will get a free pen, or something like that. Now, even a free air-ticket could not win over my urge to buy things or services that to me are not worth it no matter, how fancy the promotion is. Okay maybe I am getting wiser (ehem) as I get older.

Honestly I was tempted with Zoom, yes, because of the Dell laptop as my loyal Toshiba Starlite (bought in 2003) has gone kaput. But then, I heard that DST would also jump the wagon on the way to this battle of broadbands. Earlier on before Zoom! was e-speed’s. 

Speed performance is of utmost importance, as for people like me, it makes our work faster. Now, please correct me if I am wrong but I haven’t seen that much information that I need on speed in most of these broadband’s advertisements? Maybe there was but advertisers should communicate this clearly and accurately if they do want to win loyal or long-term customers. I also think that providers should highlight what to expect, allowing them to understand their service better and the bridge the gap between levels of expectations and disappointment.   

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 4:00 pm

    As a consumer, don’t get too confused, but embrace, embrace, that’s all we have to do, let the ‘price fall’ game begins…

    As consumers, we’re at advantage. It’s brilliant! Don’t you think?

  2. Ramble On permalink
    May 5, 2008 4:05 pm

    Hi Kellaz! Yup I agree, I was a bit confused at first but in the end, I know I must look for the best service that offer the best speed. And yes, we are at an advantage here, so lets see (and enjoy?) as Round 2 – the price war – begins.

  3. May 5, 2008 11:25 pm

    Thanks for the credit, I saw it from BB. By the way, it’s gone down to $30 per month. Initially I thought BMobile was cheaper, but it seems like DST is slightly cheaper with their subsidy voucher for 1 year and 2 years contract. A bit disappointed that the price may not go down anymore if history were to repeat itself from the first price war between these two. Maybe we may see better incentives like free minutes from DST.

  4. twoninesix permalink
    May 6, 2008 1:27 pm

    Supposedly DST’s Go Broadband is faster, but then again you can never tell. They might just be saying that but end up just as slow as e-speed! Let’s hope not!

  5. Ramble On permalink
    May 6, 2008 3:52 pm

    You would not believe this Dude, my post here got the highest number of traffic yesterday. I got the hint and these broadband providers better watch out with their plans. Now its $30? Maybe by the end of this week it will be $10 – hopefully.

  6. Ramble On permalink
    May 6, 2008 3:53 pm

    I certainly hope not twoninesix. How bizarre!

Leave a Reply

