Skip to content

Boy or girl? Who are we to play God?

April 25, 2008

Now this article from BBC really interest me. Why? I long for a boy. I have four girls already and the only male in the house (or THE man in the house) is my other half.

When I was pregnant with my third baby, everyone, I mean everyone, even an old woman in the street, said it would be a boy. Also, the ultrasound scan sessions that I went to every few weeks revealed it would be a boy. The time I found out I was pregnant again, I was already into the Old Wives’ Tales like exchanging the wooden spatula with mothers who would like the opposite sex (yes I did that with a friend of a friend who wanted to have girls); switched sleeping side with hubby and to eat more seafood and so on – all during my first trimester. 

At that time, setting my mind that it would be a boy, I was already buying everything in blue (that code colour for a baby boy) like crazy. When the time did come, I was a bit taken aback when the doctor said it’s a girl. Being grateful to God for the safe delivery – it was a big baby – I remember at that time that I couldn’t help thinking why on earth did everyone said it would be a boy? Of course I do love all my babies no matter what. Looking at all my princesses make me smile all day long.

Now, that article I mentioned earlier, it says that a high calorie diet might increase the odds of a boy. So to say that if you want a boy, go eat Nasi Lemak or Laksa and for a girl, consume a low calorie diet. Looking back at my eating habits when I was pregnant with the four girls I have, I remember  during the first three months into my prgnancy, I ate bars of almond chocolate for the first; strings of taugeh or beansprouts with the second; jars and jars of peanut butter spread for the third and endless young coconuts for the fourth. The results – yes all girls. But this is just for my case. Others might have a different story to tell (please do share? Tq).

Another thing that interest me on that article is when it says that: “The researchers say the modern trend to opt for low calorie diets might explain why the proportion of boys is falling in developed countries.” For me, this is one of the explainations on why there would be more men than women when the end of the world comes. Islam has taught us that one of the many signs when its near the Judgement Day  is that there would be more women than men.

A statistics on Brunei’s sex ratio for 2006 reveals this:
At birth: 1.06 male(s)/female
Under 15 years: 1.04 male(s)/female
15-64 years: 1.12 male(s)/female
65 years and over: 0.91 male(s)/female
Total population: 1.09 male(s)/female (2006 est.)

A quick search reveals that at the moment, based on the CIA Factbook, the world has a ratio of 1.01 male to one female. The map below tells more. Red means more men and blue more women. Brunei is color-coded with pink.

This site tells more on the sex or gender debate. So who are we to play God?

Sex ratio by country population. Blue - more women, red means more men. Brunei is pink.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

