Skip to content

Books and more books – love them.

February 27, 2008

Calling all bookworms, mamas & papas and those who have interest in books, publishers, workshops, discounts, offers or even fun!

Don’t forget to visit the Brunei Book Fair 2008 which starts today until 7th March at the ICC in Berakas. Opening time is 8.30am to 10pm. The organiser a.k.a. the Language and Literature Bureau has promised that this would be their best ever.

In this age of technology, printed books are being replaced by the likes of e-books. Publishers are long aware of this I’m sure. Personally for me, I still like to hold a book in my hand and carry it around. Still old-fashioned, I know.

It’s just sad to know that our young people nowadays prefer to play video games or hanging around endlessly without direction instead of reading a book. Please carry a book around.

And, here I go again, blaming parents for not instilling the love of reading among their children when they are small. Its never too late even if you have grown-up children already. Buy a bookrack or shelf and start buying useful books instead of collecting DVDs (and pirated at that, mcm pak haji jugak). Set a nice cosy corner for a family’s mini library. Set by examples and your children would follow them.

I remember when I was small, our house was full of books – religious books, encyclopedia, and medicinal books as well as my beloved fairy tales books. My elder brother (whom I always have endless fights with when we were small) is the greatest bookworm in the world that I know. He just love reading anything even labels on the inside of your shirt or that newspaper wrapper for nasi bungkus .  Come to think of it, I think I was actually copying whatever he was doing then as dad would praised whoever did any good behaviour and got rewarded; usually like the valuable twenty-cents. So that copying of behaviour became a habit to me, which is good in a way.

My mom, when reminiscing the past would told us, her children, that there was one time when one of our neighbours commented (I hope sincerely) that our house was full of books. To which my mom replied, ‘Biar tia banyak buku, banyak pengetahuan’ or let there be books everywhere so there would be more knowledge. Indeed!

Please check also those links below on this year’s book fair around the world that I could gather. Happy browsing!

Abu Dhabi Book Fair – 11th to 18th March.

Bangkok International Book Fair – 26th to 30th March at Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre.

Edinburgh Book Fair 2008 – 14th March to 15th March at The Assembly Room, George Street, Edinburgh (Admission is free)

Kuala Lumpur International Book Fair – 4th to 13th April at PWTC, Kuala Lumpur.

London Book Fair 2008 – 14th to 16th April at the Earls Court, London.

The University of New South Wales Book Fair – 24th to 27th April at the Roundhouse, UNSW, Anzac Parade, Kensington

Hong Kong Book Fair – 23rd to 29th July at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (I like the logo – check it out)

2008 Beijing International Book Fair – 1st to 4th September at Tianjin, China (I wish I can go)

Frankfurt Book Fair 2008 – 15th to 19th October.

Chelsea Book Fair 2008 – 7th to 8th November at the Chelsea Old Town Hall, King’s Road, London.

17th Annual Connecticut Children’s Book Fair – 8th to 9th November 2008 at the Rome Hall, South Campus Complex, University of Connecticut, Storrs. Nice…for children in mind.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2008 12:21 am

    chromaticism antipedobaptism peremptorily rowdy surrebutter attaghan deviation gentisein
    Nature’s Hammock
    http://www.potterranch.com/

Leave a Reply

